The European Capital of Innovation Awards (iCapital)


The European Capital of Innovation Awards (iCapital) is an annual recognition prize awarded to the European cities that best promote innovation in their communities.

Cities are faced with some of the most severe societal and sustainability challenges but do also have the means to overcome them by developing and applying effective innovative solutions.

They are the place where ideas, people, public and private actors meet and engage among themselves to improve the life quality of the society. They are the natural playground where breakthrough innovation flourishes as cities provide ground to experiment with new technologies and products in a real environment.

In particular, the eighth edition recognises the cities’ contribution to developing local innovation ecosystems for the benefit of game-changing innovation and the wellbeing of the public.

Any city can apply to only one of the two categories as long as it:

  • has at least 50 000 inhabitants (please see further details and exceptions in the Rules of contest)
  • is located in an EU Member State or an Associated Country to Horizon European Commission

Visit the below link to view all criteria for application.

Information, video and image source:
EIC - European Innovation Council
Call Deadline: 
Thursday, June 30, 2022
Further Information:
External Link