Malta Intellectual Property Awards 2023

Thursday, May 11, 2023
‘Intellectual Property’ refers to all products and works that are the fruit of the human mind and therefore plays a significant role in our daily lives. Rights accorded by the state in respect of intellectual property such as copyright, patents, trademarks and registered designs provide businesses, artists and inventors with a means to protect products and creations and also encourage them to invest in innovation and creativity to the benefit of society.
The Malta Intellectual Property Awards are aimed at recognising and promoting the creation of Intellectual Property in Malta. The Award has four categories:
1. Award for Creative Initiative
The ‘Award for Creative Initiative’ rewards individuals or enterprises operating in the cultural and creative sectors. For the purposes of the ‘Malta Intellectual Property Awards’, submissions in this category shall be in respect of artistic or audio-visual works or a combination thereof.
2. Award for Scientific Initiative
The ‘Award for Scientific Initiative’ recognises science-based research findings generated by science students, academics and professionals. The initiative could be a new product, a significant improvement of an existing product, a new use of an existing product or a new process.
3. Award for Technological Initiative
The ‘Award for Technological Initiative’ requires the development of new and innovative, or step-change improvements, with respect to problem solving of real commercial or societal challenges. The outcome should be an innovative technological process or an existing solution that is improved radically for application in a novel situation.
4. Award for Emerging Innovation Initiative
This award is divided into two (2) sub-categories namely:
a) Age 16 to 30 and
b) Age 31 and over
The ‘Award for Emerging Innovation’ acknowledges initiative aimed at encouraging projects that are not created by experienced creative, scientific or professional persons, but which nonetheless are still promising and innovative. Eligible projects for this category must be the work of an individual or entity that is a newcomer to the field i.e. has been operating in the field for less than five (5) years. Projects submitted under this category must fall under one of the previous three (3) categories of either Creative, Scientific or Technological Initiative.
Projects should be tangible, concrete and well developed into either actual or very promising products or processes. Any concepts which are essentially based on abstract ideas and intentions are not considered to fall within the scope of the awards.
The winners of the first and second place for categories 1, 2 and 3 shall receive €8,000 & €4,000 respectively in each category.
The winners of categories 4a and 4b shall each receive €4,000.
Applications will be received via email on from Monday 15th May 2023 until Wednesday 28th June 2023.
Submissions are to be made on the relative forms which will be made available as from Monday 15th May 2023.
Visit the below link to download the guidelines.
Information and image source:
Further Information: External Link